SMS named ‘tops’ at regional science fair

by Dennis Dalman –

The hard work of 40 Sartell Middle School students paid off when their school was named “tops” at the Central Minnesota Regional Science Fair and Research Paper Competition at St. Cloud State University.

At the fair, Sartell Middle School earned the “Top School” award for the highest percentage of students with purple ribbons and special awards. Twenty-three other schools from the region competed at the fair. The total scientific projects presented totaled 250 from grades 6-12, with 40 of those projects created by Sartell-St. Stephen students who received nine purple ribbons and many other ribbons and special awards.

The “Top School” award, the judges noted, speaks well not only for the students but for the science teachers at Sartell Middle School – Angela McSorley, eighth grade; Gina Anderson, seventh grade; and Jason Anderson, Gary Rosin and Mike Holman, sixth grade.

Nine of the SMS students, who won purple ribbons, will advance to state competition in April. They and their projects are: Kali Killmer and Monte Belmont, seventh grade: Fertilizer: Friend or Foe; Maddie Theischafer and Becca Kucala, seventh grade: Pathogens, Bacteria and Germs – Oh My!”; Rory Spanier, eighth grade: Video Gaming for the Blind; Eric Schatz, eighth grade: Propeller Efficiency; Sydney Thieschafer, eighth grade: Shaping Up to Disappear; Rameen Dogar, eighth grade: Eyewitness Testimony; and Josh Maricle-Roberts, eighth grade: Deforestation and Effects on the Iberian Lynx.

The award-winning sixth-grade students and their projects are: Anna Lehto: Dimple Drop; Elizabeth Millhouse: Salty Surroundings; Cindy Zhang: Spy; Jacob Miller: How Far Will It Fly?; Elizabeth Ruder: Does Color Make a Difference?; Brinn Alervok and Rachel Ditmarson: Fizzy Fireworks; and Logan Jesperson and Jack Hackenmueller: Rapid Reverse.

The following special awards were given: American Psychological Association: Rory Spanier; Naval Science Award: Rory Spanier; Broadcam Masters Award: Lehto, Maddie and Sydney Thieschafer, Kucala, Dogar and Schatz.

[/media-credit] The Sartell participants at the Central Minnesota Regional Science Fair and Research Paper Competition brought home an armload of premium ribbons recently. The event took place at St. Cloud State University. The Sartell premium-award winners are the following: (front row) Kali Killmer, Monte Belmont, Maddie Thieschafer and Becca Kucala; (middle row) Rory Spanier, Eric Schatz. Josh Maricle-Roberts, Sydney Thieschafer, Rameen Dogar and Elizabeth Millhouse; (back row) Anna Lehto, Cindy Zhang, Rachel Ditmarson, Brinn Alervok, Elizabeth Ruder, Jack Hackenmueller, Logan Jesperson and Jacob Miller.

Dennis Dalman

Dennis Dalman

Dalman was born and raised in South St. Cloud, graduated from St. Cloud Tech High School, then graduated from St. Cloud State University with a degree in English (emphasis on American and British literature) and mass communications (emphasis on print journalism). He studied in London, England for a year (1980-81) where he concentrated on British literature, political science, the history of Great Britain and wrote a book-length study of the British writer V.S. Naipaul. Dalman has been a reporter and weekly columnist for more than 30 years and worked for 16 of those years for the Alexandria Echo Press.
Dennis Dalman

Latest posts by Dennis Dalman (see all)

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply